No. 2 Cal Poly Outlasts No. 7 Oregon in Overtime Thriller for 2008 National Collegiate Club Championship

No. 2 Cal Poly Outlasts No. 7 Oregon in Overtime Thriller for 2008 National Collegiate Club Championship

GRESHAM, Ore. -- Sarah Ur (Fr., Lompoc, Calif.) whipped a shot into the left side of the cage on an exclusion opportunity to break a 6-6 tie with 12 seconds remaining in the first of two three-minute overtime periods for the game-winner as No. 2 nationally ranked California Polytechnic State University defeated No. 7 and host the University of Oregon 7-6 OT to capture the 2008 National Collegiate Club Championship.

The win marks the fourth championship in the history of the Mustangs' program as Cal Poly previously won the 2003 (vs. Michigan State University), 2004 (vs. Dartmouth College) and 2005 (vs. Dartmouth) titles. In addition, the title game appearance was the sixth for Cal Poly in the nine-year history of the women's National Collegiate Club Championship as the Mustangs fell in 2002 (vs. Michigan State University) and 2007 (vs. Fresno State University).

In a game highlighted by four lead changes, 13 goals, 48 shots and 25 saves, the Mustangs and Ducks battled in a game befitting its reward, the 2008 national championship.

The story of the game was the play of goalies Jenny Austin (Sr., Burbank, Calif.) of Cal Poly and Jessica Kragt (So., Portland, Ore.) as the duo made 12 and 13 saves, respectively, to keep a game highlighted by two of the best offenses in the country a tight contest.

Oregon wasted no time in taking the lead as Jessica Sander (Sr., Portland, Ore.) ripped a shot into the back of the netting with 5:46 left in the first period. Cal Poly responded 26 seconds later with a marker by Colleen Scheitrum (Sr., San Mateo, Calif.) to start a four goal run.

Roxanne Eastwood (So., Riverside, Calif.) scored on an exclusion at 3:12 and Ur drilled in a pair of even strength goals at 2:43 and 1:55 to close out the run and put the Mustangs out in front 4-1, but Oregon pulled back to within a goal before halftime as Maria Turner (Sr., Tulatin, Ore.) flipped in a shot with 1:27 left in the first and Lizzy Flower (So., Lafayette, Calif.) added a marker with 54 seconds remainingin in the second period.

Eastwood scored again to open the second half and move the lead to 5-3 as she tallied her second goal at the 5:23 mark of the third period, but Oregon's Beth Gordon (Fr., Walnut Creek, Calif.), Liz Sampson (Sr., Tulatin, Ore.) and Courtney Ashford (Sr., Salem, Ore.) beat Austin at 4:30, 1:22 and 47 seconds, respectively, to turn a two goal deficit into a 6-5 lead with a seven minute period to play.

The lead marked the only time Oregon was in front during the game and lasted only 1:20 as Eastwood drilled a shot into the twine with 6:27 left in regulation to tie the game at 6-6.

Neither team could break through overe the remaining six minutes of play as Kragt turned away three Cal Poly shots and Austin was not forced to block away a shot as teams went to overtime.

The game changed dramatically in the extra two three-minute periods as Oregon hit a crossbar and Austin made a save to keep the Mustangs in the game and Kragt stopped two Mustangs' shots before Ur's deciding factor with 12 seconds left in the first extra period.

In the history of the Natioanl Collegiate Club Championship, it marked the first time a title game went to overtime since Michigan State University defeated California Polytechnic 7-6 in sudden victory in the 2002 title tilt.


Team 1st 2nd 3rd 4th OT -- Final
#2 Cal Poly 4 0 1 1 1 -- 7
#7 Oregon 2 1 3 0 0 -- 6

Oregon Goals -- Courtney Ashford; Maria Turner; Lizzy Flower; Liz Sampson; Beth Gordon; Jessica Sander

Cal Poly Goals -- Sarah Ur (3); Roxanne Eastwood (3); Colleen Scheitrum

Oregon Steals -- Courtney Ashford (2); Lizzy Flower; Beth Gordon

Cal Poly Steals -- Kelly Gause; Colleen Scheitrum; Erika Bigbie

Saves: Oregon - Jessica Kragt (13) ; Cal Poly - Jenny Austin (12)

Ejections: Oregon - 7 ; Cal Poly - 4

Shots: Oregon - 22; Cal Poly - 26

Sprints: Oregon - 2 ; Cal Poly - 4


2008 National Champion California Polytechnic State University

View: Mobile | Desktop