Massachusetts Institute of Technology Assistant Athletic Director John Benedick Set for Induction to CWPA Hall of Fame

John Benedick
John Benedick

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- Former Massachusetts Institute of Technology head coach John Benedick will be inducted into the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Hall of Fame on the evening of November 18 at the Holiday Inn-Boston/Somerville during the league's Eastern Championship Banquet.

He will become the 20th inductee into the Hall of Fame and joins elite company as he becomes sixth head coach selected for induction adding to a list of honorees that includes: Richard Hunkler (Slippery Rock University/Coach, 2002), Dick Russell (Bucknell University/Coach, 2002), Lynn Kachmarik (Slippery Rock University/Athlete, Bucknell University/Coach, 2003), Ed Reed (Brown University/Coach, 2003), John Barrett (University of Maryland/Athlete, 2004), Paul Barren (West Chester University/Referee, 2004), Sue Kolczak (Slippery Rock University/Athlete, 2005), George Gross (Yale University/Athlete, 2005), Robbie Bova (Slippery Rock University/Athlete, 2006), Scott Schulte (Bucknell University/Athlete, 2006), Katie Grogan (University of Massachusetts/Athlete, 2007), Russ Yarworth (University of Massachusetts/Coach, 2007), Betsey Armstrong (University of Michigan/Athlete, 2008), Tom Popp (United States Naval Academy/Athlete, 2008), Diane Stein Swigart (Slippery Rock University/Athlete, 2009), Lars Enstrom (Brown University/Athlete, 2009), Leslie Entwistle (Slippery Rock University/Athlete, 2010), Chris Judge (Fordham University/Athlete, 2010) and Carrie Basye-Becker (Slippery Rock University, University of Maryland/Athlete, 2011).

The first honoree from MIT or a Cambridge school (Harvard University, MIT) selected for induction, Benedick coached the Engineers men's water polo program from 1975-to-1996.  During his 23-year tenure on the bench, he tallied an overall record of 158-263-2 to rank as the all-time winningest coach in the 42-year history of the sport at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The coach of 10 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) All-America selections and 15 All-New England picks, he captured the 1991 CWPA Division III Eastern Championship and reached the Division III Eastern title game three-times (1991, 1994, 1996).

MIT's swimming & diving coach along with his duties as water polo coach, he helped 50 of his athletes earn All-America honors, produced numerous conference champions, and developed three national champions in swimming. 

Since 1997 he has served as Assistant Director of Athletics at MIT, a role which deals with the development of operational processes and procedures for the intercollegiate athletic program.

He was instrumental in the planning of MIT's current facility, the Zesiger Center, visiting over 20 top facilities to draw ideas and provide feedback as to what the institution needed in an aquatics and recreation facility.

The President of the Collegiate Water Polo Association and a member of the organization's Board of Directors, Benedick graduated from California State University at Hayward with a Bachelor of Science in Physical Education before earning a Master’s degree from the University of California, Berkeley.

Tickets to the event are still available at a cost of $25/person.  Contact the CWPA league office at if you are interested in attending.


1976 MIT Men's Water Polo Team (Benedick on far left)

View: Mobile | Desktop