Collegiate Water Polo Association Releases 2017 Women's Division III All-Conference Team; Moran Named Most Valuable Player

Collegiate Water Polo Association Releases 2017 Women's Division III All-Conference Team; Moran Named Most Valuable Player

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. -- The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announces the 2017 Division III All-Conference Team based on nominations and balloting of the head coaches from Carthage College, Connecticut College, Grove City College, Macalester College, Monmouth College, Penn State Behrend, Utica College and Washington & Jefferson College.

Leading the team is 2017 CWPA Division III Most Valuable Player Lucille Moran (So., Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) and Rookie of the Year Cara Mullery (Fr., Palmetto Bay, Fla./MAST Academy) of Macalester College.   The duo become the first Scots' players to earn individual awards as Moran joins Kelsey Millward (Connecticut: 2016), Nicolle Jasbon (Connecticut: 2013, 2014, 2015), Chelsea Johnson (Grove City: 2012), Kimberly Genian (Carthage: 2011) and Amanda Thompson (Grove City: 2010) on the list of MVPs, with Moran following Jane Eckles (Carthage: 2016), Maryn Horn (Penn State Behrend: 2015), Laura Travers (Washington & Jefferson: 2014), Rachel Clauss (Washington & Jefferson: 2013), Hannah Hibbs (Wheaton College: 2012), Hillary Veselik (Carthage: 2011) and Amanda Johnston (Grove City: 2010) on the roster of conference Rookies of the Year.

Overall, Macalester joins the 2011 Carthage squad in sweeping the individual awards as second-year Macalester head coach Scott Reed claims notice as the CWPA Division III Coach of the Year.  He follows former coaches Jon Miller (Grove City: 2010, 2012), Sarah Zink (Carthage: 2011), JJ Addison (Connecticut: 2013), Andy Bax (Carthage: 2014) and current peers Matt Anderson (Connecticut: 2015) and Joe Tristan (Penn State Behrend: 2016) in earning kudos and becomes the first Macalester head coach honored by his peers. It marks the third career coaching honor for Reed as he earned notice as the 2003 CWPA Women's Southern Division and 2007 CWPA Men's Southern Division Coach of the Year while head coach at George Washington University.

A total of 14 student-athletes earned All-Conference honors this year, including six players who repeated as selections.

Regular season champion Washington & Jefferson College registers the most honorees as goalie Alexandra Hopkins (Sr., Sinking Spring, Pa./Wilson), Sarah Latzo (Sr., Erie, Pa./Villa Maria) and Madison Nervig (Sr., Naperville, Ill./Naperville Central) earned First Team recognition. The award marks the second nods for both Hopkins and Latzo who previously garnered First Team accolades in 2016.  Nervig joins Second Team honoree Elizabeth Klock (Jr., New Lennox, Ill./Lincoln-Way Central) in earning the inaugural All-Conference berths of their intercollegiate careers.

Macalester receives one First Team honor for Moran and two Second Team laurels in Oriana Galasso (Fr., Gresham, Ore./Barlow) and Mullery as the trio all picked up their first All-Conference awards.

Carthage receives two selections as Carly Strass (Sr., Western Springs, Ill./La Grange-Lyons Township) and Maggie Hennigan (Fr., Chicago, Ill./Mother McAuley) were voted to the First and Second Teams, respectively.  Monmouth also earned a pair of berths as Becca Dabrowski (So., McHenry, Ill./West) and goalie Natalie Curtis (Jr., Arlington Heights, Ill./Hersey), who previously received Second Team notice in 2016, posted First and Second Team accolades.

A trio of past All-Conference recipients complete the 2017 edition of the team as 2016 Second Team honoree April Anderson (Jr., Mill Valley, Calif./Tamalpais) of Connecticut rounds out the First Team, while 2015 Rookie of the Year/Second Team selection Maryn Horn (Jr., Houston, Texas/Jersey Village) of Penn State Behrend and 2016 First Team/2014 Second Team athlete Abigail Jank (Sr., Worthington, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) of Grove City both earn Second Team notice.

2017 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III All-Conference Team
Player of the Year:
Lucille Moran (Macalester College)
Coach of the Year:
Scott Reed (Macalester College)
Rookie of the Year:
Cara Mullery (Macalester College)
First Team

Alexandra Hopkins (Goalie) *

Washington & Jefferson College
Sarah Latzo *
  Washington & Jefferson College
Madison Nervig
  Washington & Jefferson College
Carly Strass
  Carthage College
April Anderson ^   Connecticut College
Lucille Moran   Macalester College
Becca Dabrowski   Monmouth College
Second Team

Natalie Curtis (Goalie) ^   Monmouth College
Oriana Galasso
  Macalester College
Cara Mullery
  Macalester College
Maggie Hennigan
  Carthage College
Abigail Jank *@
  Grove City College
Maryn Horn %&
  Penn State Behrend
Elizabeth Klock
  Washington & Jefferson College
*2016 First Team; ^2016 Second Team; %2015 Second Team; &2015 Rookie of the Year; @2014 Second Team

View: Mobile | Desktop