Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2022 Men’s Collegiate Club Northwest Division Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) releases the 2022 Men’s Collegiate Club Northwest Division schedule.

Comprised of Boise State University, Central Washington University, Oregon State University “A”, Oregon State University “B”, the University of Oregon, the University of Washington and Western Washington University, the division will contest its 24th season as part of the CWPA.  In the history of the division, Washington (1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2006, 2009, 2016), Oregon State (2003, 2014, 2015, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2021) and Oregon (2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013) have combined to win all 23 previous Northwest crowns. The 2020 season was not contested due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Due to limited sites able to host, the division race is comprised of a single 16-game regular season tournament at the Amazon Aquatic Center in Eugene, Ore., on Saturday-Sunday, October 15-16, prior to an 11-game championship tournament at Western Washington University in Bellingham, Wash., on Saturday-Sunday, October 22-23.

The regular season weekend at the Amazon Aquatic Center will be unique as games on Saturday, October 15, will utilize 18-minute running time halves with neither timeouts nor overtime used during the day.  On Sunday, October 16, games will be contested with six-minute quarters and no overtime, while teams will be permitted one timeout per half.

The Northwest Division champion earns an automatic berth to the 2022 Men’s National Collegiate Club Championship slated to be hosted in the division on Friday-Sunday, November 11-13.  If the division champion hosts the event, the runner-up from the Northwest Division will claim the No. 16 seed.  Otherwise, the division champion will earn the Northwest’s spot in the field, while the host will assume the No. 16 slot in the 16-team field.

Collegiate Water Polo Association