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Topic: The Women’s Game-Suits Grabs/Holds/Exclusions 

In this presentation we are going to deal with the women’s game and the players never-ending 
need for gaining an advantage by grabbing or holding an opponent’s suit. The women have 
developed and refined this technique to a level that makes it difficult for referees to see all the 
time. There are even mutual suit holds which create a neutral situation unless you can spot the 
instigator. Hopefully through watching these eight video clips it will increase your awareness 
and make it easier to spot violations when they happen.  
 
Many times a suit hold can turn into a breast exposure situation which should always be quickly 
called as an exclusion foul, defensively or offensively. This would include any self-inflicted 
exposure which is rare but does happen. 
 
Remember, If an offensive player exposes her opponent, the ball should be turned over as an 
offensive or contra foul with THE PLAYER BEING EXCLUDED. Sometimes referees forget this 
when it is an offensive exposure call! 
 
Telltale signs of a suit grab or hold is the opponent’s tan line gets exposed or the victim tries to 
show the hold by elevating her upper body above the waterline by bobbing up. In some cases, 
the victim is forced underwater by the leverage of the suit hold where the player might resort to 
grabbing her opponent’s wrist or arm to try and release the hold  
 
Any offensive player that is extending their arm to make contact with their defender, should be 
scrutinized for possibly grabbing the front of their opponents suit to create spacing 

1. To get leverage to shot or  
2. For just pushing away the defender’s attack.  
3. All these efforts are offensive or contra fouls and should result in the ball turning over  

Dartfish.tv videos: 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604828&CL=1  
1-W_P1 defender grabs strap  
Duration: 00:11  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019  
Description: 
The P1 defender grabs the suit of the offensive player. The offensive player shows the 
referee by bobbing up above water to expose the suit hold and the exclusion foul is 
correctly called. Be suspicious of perimeter defenders extending an arm to make 
contact with the offensive player. There might be an attempt to hand check, hold or suit 
grab on a drive attempt. We want to encourage offensive movement. If you are 

mailto:edswimpolo@charter.net
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604828&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c294836


consistent in calling the exclusion the players will adjust. It's their responsibility to show 
they are not fouling. Pressing defenses mean the potential for exclusions is much 
higher. 

 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604830&CL=1 
2-W_P4 driver grabs the Defender’s suit-F  
Duration: 00:21  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019  
Description:  
Nice offensive or contra foul called by the attack referee. The P4 player initiates a non-
ball side drive but uses the defenders suit to hold and push off to gain an advantage 

 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604834&CL=1 
3-W_P2 using hand to control  
Duration: 00:12  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 31 January, 2019  
Description:  
Not only does this P2 player use a straight arm to control spacing but she also grabs the 
suit in an attempt to turn the defender. Instead of the official calling an offensive or 
contra foul (Correct Call), he or she called an ordinary foul for simply knocking the ball 
out of the hand of the offensive player which is perfectly legal. Unless there are body 
position circumstances that cause the defender to be impeding the offensive player after 
the ball is released, there should be no foul called. Defense is entitled to attack if the 
player is holding the ball!!  

 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604836&CL=1 
4-W_CF grabs CFD suit for control-F  
Duration: 00:22  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019  
Description: 
The center forward in this situation is holding the CFD's suit and arm to hold position. 
Yes, the CF has inside water advantage but it appears she got it illegally by holding and 
pushing the CFD. The CFD is desperately trying to release the hold and suit grab only 
to get excluded for the illegal actions of the CF. In the end the CFD was excluded for 
holding the CF's wrist or fore arm. This could be a good opportunity for a little 
collaboration by the perimeter referee stepping down to cover for the attack referee 
since the action is clearer and closer to him or her.  
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604842&CL=1 
5-W_CFD grabs suit for control  
Duration: 00:13  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019  
Description: 
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Watch the positioning of the center forward defender's hands. You can tell by her high 
body position that she is probably supporting herself by grabbing the straps on the back 
of the suit of the CF. It can be common in women's water polo to use the back suit 
straps to maintain good body positioning and for control when defending the CF. If this 
is an advantage and the CF is not holding the ball then the CFD is holding and could be 
excluded for using that hold to control for an advantage. Be on the lookout at CF-CFD 
area for body position/interaction and note any action/reaction/advantage by the 
defender or the CF. 
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604851&CL=1 
6-W_CFD suit grab on shot  
Duration: 00:13  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 30 January, 2019  
Description: 
Interesting initial defense by the CFD. She may have been held by the CF and 
responded by using two hands to the arm to elevate and release. Hard to say what took 
place from this view but it was deemed to be neutral by the attack official (no call) as the 
ball was about to be passed into the CF. The CF had a real nice step-out to the ball, 
with good separation, to take the shot. Once the CF had the ball in hand the CFD got a 
hold of the suit trying to influence the shot attempt. Since the ball was in hand the hold 
on the suit was perfectly legal as long as it didn't become exposure.  
Remember, suit exposure is an exclusion foul whether it is by the defense, by the 
offense or even self inflicted. 
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604887&CL=1 
7-W_P2 grabs front of defender scores-F  
Duration: 00:44  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019 
Description: 
This is a tough situation for the perimeter referee because of his level view as compared 
to the camera height and angle. Looking at the sinking reaction of the defender at P2 
when the offensive player grabs the ball you can see P2’s opposite hand extend out to 
the defender and grab the suit. This provides the leverage and separation for the 
shooter. However, the initial actions of the defender on the drive before the ball arrives 
could easily be called an exclusion foul. The action of the offensive player was an 
offensive foul or contra on the shot (according to the rules as written). Could you see 
this in live time, in a split second? What would you call?  
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604892&CL=1 
8-W_P3 grabs defenders suit gets ordinary  
Duration: 00:11  
In public collection:19-0130 Referee Education  
Published on 25 January, 2019 by NCAA 6 Last modified on 29 January, 2019  
Description: 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604851&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c294836
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604887&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c294836
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c294836m4604892&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c294836


The ordinary foul was called too late. By waiting a little bit longer to blow the whistle it 
enabled the offensive player to use a straight arm with a suit grab which should have 
been called as an offensive or contra foul. The defender at P3 obviously wanted to foul 
but the official didn't make the call quickly thus leading to an unnecessary situation 
allowing for more physicality. Call the foul when you see it!! 
 
Post Statement: You can view these clips and see a description of each by going to 
Dartfish.tv under the Collegiate Water Polo Association channel. If you have any 
questions please contact me. Comments are welcomed on content and subject. All 
views on each clip would be open for discussion if I was reviewing then with the referee 
involved. The purpose of the discussion would be to improve consistency and serve as 
an educational tool for improvement. 

 

 

 


