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Topic: Penalty Fouls Part II 

This is Part II on Penalty Fouls. In t// l.his session will continue with Rule 8 

Section2. Within 5-Meter Area To Prevent Goal 

“For a defending player to commit any foul within the 5-meter area but for which 

a goal probably would have resulted.” 

To continue on with a.through g. 

a. For a goalkeeper or other defending player to pull down or otherwise 

displace the goal……..Section 5 “shall be excluded from the remainder of 

the game, with substitution after the earliest occurrence of an event 

described in Rule 7-3” 

b. For a defending player to attempt to block a shot or pass with two hands 

inside the 5-meter line. The defending player does not have to touch the ball 

nor does a shot have to be taken nor does the shot have to be a probable 

goal. 

c. For a defending player to play the ball with two hands 

d. For a defending player to play the ball with a clenched fist 

e. For a goalkeeper or other defending player to take the ball under the water 

when tackled. 

f. For the goalkeeper to push off the wall in an attempt to block a shot (if the 

ball goes into the goal, the goal is scored; if the shot is blocked, a penalty 

throw shall be awarded 

g. For a defending player other than the goalkeeper to jump off the bottom 

within the 5-meter area to prevent a probable goal.  

Rule 8 Section 4 Excluded Player Interfering With Play- For an 

excluded player intentionally to interfere with play, including affecting the 

alignment of the goal. Rule 7 Section 21 “If the excluded player does not 

commence leaving the field of play almost immediately, the referee may deem 

this to be intentional interference under the rule.” 
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Here are several video clips to depict different situations for reviewing penalty foul 

situations. 

Dartfish.tv videos: 

 
 
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4646427&CL=1 
 
01-Penalty Foul and Administration of  
Duration: 00:32  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education  
 

The open player on the counter attack gets inside the 5 meter line with two defenders trailing. 

The ball is on the right side and gets passed to him center goal positioning. The open player 

needed to slow down to receive the pass which allowed the defenders to close the gap. One 

defender uses his right hand to press down on the open player sinking him as his hand 

momentarily touches the ball. The open player feels the defender and releases the ball as he is 

sinking from the defenders pressure thus creating a penalty foul situation which is called by the 

attack referee.  

Note: the player taking the penalty shot is a lefty so the perimeter referee takes control of 

administering the penalty foul while the attack referee moves back to cover the other players. 

The referee positions on the 5M line to position the shooter and to make sure the defenders on 

either side are spaced far enough away from the shooter. Next the referee walks down near the 

goal line to make sure the goalie's head is on the goal line. Once the referee see's the players are 

positioned properly he raises his arm, blows the whistle and drops his arm simultaneously which 

signals the shooter to take the shot in an uninterrupted motion without moving inside the 5M line 

before the shot is taken. 

 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4648478&CL=1 
 
02-Penalty foul-M-CF positions inside_F  
Duration: 00:51  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education  
 
The ball starts at P5 position, moves to P4 and is passed into the CF with good inside water 

positioning. The CFD and CF were in a mutual two hand lock-up which is a neutral situation. If 

either player attempts to break from this position and is prevented by holding it would be either 

an offensive foul or defensive exclusion (penalty foul potential). The use of two hands is illegal 

but if you don't see the instigator it can become a neutral situation as demonstrated. In this 

situation the CF releases to receive the ball and makes a stunning play to draw a penalty foul. 

Once a defender plays from behind to get at the ball in the hand of the offensive player, he is 

destined to foul by sinking when the ball is released or knocked away.  

 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4646427&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c298041
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4648478&CL=1
https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c298041


https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4659254&CL=1 

 

03-W-CF TurnGoalie_F  
Duration: 00:21  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education 
 

The ball will start at the P4 position with the CF at center goal about 3-meters from the goal line. 

The CF has a good position to receive the ball and the CFD is not contesting her position. The 

ball comes into the CF from P4 and she commences to turn toward the goal with the ball sliding 

in front of her. The CFD never attempted to show she was not fouling by immediately putting 

her hands in the air vertically. The CF tries to move to the ball but is prevented to do so because 

the CFD is pulling back. The goalie comes out to make an attempt to reach the ball but the 

penalty foul was called by the attack referee. An observation after the video was produced: The 

CF actually used her right hand to pull down on the CFD's right forearm initially to control the 

defender and keep her behind and on the CF's back. If the referee could see this subtle action it 

would be an offensive or contra foul and the ball turned over. It was very quick and subtle action.  

 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4648484&CL=1 
 
04-W-Penalty Angle P1 Drive-in_F  
Duration: 00:17  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education  
 
Because of a drop defender on the CF, P4 has the ball with no defender. P4 looks to the far side 
and sees P1 make a move on her defender to get inside water positioning at an angle to the 
goal. P4 makes the pass to P1 and her defender holds/sinks to try and recover from her 
attention deficit mistake. It's a scenario inside the 5M line with the potential for a goal. 
Whether she is inside or outside the goal post makes no difference. It's the defenders 
responsibility to show she is not fouling. The offensive player in this situation would have an 
excellent opportunity to score a goal without the defender fouling her. Yes, I would view this as 
a probable goal situation. The defender would have been better off letting her go (not fouling) 
and see if the goalie could block a shot attempt from short range. Remember the Penalty Rule 
does not mention consideration of position outside the goal post, just: "Within the 5M.......any 
foul..........probable goal." These are the key words to focus on when making your decision.  
 

https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4646549&CL=1 
 
05-2M-CF inside_pass into Penalty-F  
Duration: 00:36  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education  
 
This scenario takes place late in the counter with an offensive player in the P5 area uncovered 
with the ball looking to execute a dry pass into a player occupying the CF position in front of the 
goal. Just before the pass is released the CFD attacks the CF position hands down and sinking. 
The CF makes a futile attempt to reach the ball for an attempt on goal. The quality of the pass 
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https://www.dartfish.tv/Videos?CR=p7695c298041
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should not be an issue to the attack referee rather the defender is fouling a player in an 
advantage position for a probable goal. Especially with the goalie out of position. Pass too high 
should not come into the equation when making this judgement call. It's the responsibility of 
the defender to show he is not fouling. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
https://www.dartfish.tv/Player?CR=p7695c298041m4646525&CL=1 
 
06-2M-M-No Call or Penalty_F  
Duration: 00:38  
In limited collection:19-0219-Referee Education  
 
The ball is going to be passed into the CF from the P1 position. The attack referee can see the 
CFD holding with his arm over the CF shoulder before the pass goes from the P3 area over to 
P1. However, the CF has a good ball-side advantage to receive an incoming pass from P1 so no 
foul should be called at this time. In fact, just before the pass comes in from P1 the CF is about 
to position himself with inside water to the goal and there is a good passing lane to receive the 
ball. The CF is inside the 5M line and the situation for the attack referee is going to be a possible 
penalty foul or an attempt for a natural goal. The ball is passed in and the CFD immediately 
goes vertical with two hands/arms straight up demonstrating he is not fouling. The CFD knows 
he has help from a teammate who dropped in from the top defensive perimeter. At this point 
the CF has full control and is able to move to the ball for a shot attempt but the drop defender 
gets to the ball at the same time and steals the ball giving it to the goalie. This sequence is a 
great example of the attack referee having good focus and patience to watch the advantage 
develop and give the players the opportunity to play the ball. The CF had the opportunity to 
play the sequence out without the defense fouling. If the CFD had been late in showing his 
hands or was leaning/sinking on the CF it would have been a different situation (potential 
penalty foul) 
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