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Unintentional Interference with Play Following an Exclusion 
 
Background: 
Rule 7 Section 19, “Interfering with Play”, states that if an excluded player intentionally interferes 
with play, a penalty throw shall be awarded to the opposing team and an additional personal foul 
awarded against the excluded player. The rules are silent with regard to actions that should be 
taken if an excluded player interferes with play unintentionally. Unintentional interference can 
have a range of consequences; from directly resulting in a change of possession of the ball, to a 
disruption of the offensive team’s execution of the extra player situation, or to minimal or no 
consequence at all. The following interpretation is provided in response to questions that have 
arisen regarding how unintentional interference by an excluded player should be addressed. 
 
Interpretation:  
If an excluded player unintentionally interferes with play during the extra player situation, the 
referees shall stop play, remove the ball from the pool, reset the game clock to the time of the 
exclusion, reset the shot clock, place the excluded player in the reentry area with no further penalty 
to that player and return the ball to the offense. 
 
Situations: 
The following examples of potential situations are presented for further guidance: 

1. An excluded player is taking a path around the extra player offense to the exclusion area 
and is struck by an errant pass. This is unintentional interference that should be addressed 
following the steps presented in the above interpretation. 

2. An excluded player chooses to proceed to the exclusion area by swimming directly through 
the extra player offense and is struck by a rebounding shot. Since the player chose to take 
the highest risk path to the exclusion area, this is deemed to be intentional interference. A 
penalty throw is awarded to the opposing team, and an additional personal foul is awarded 
against the excluded player, who still must go to the exclusion area. 

3. An excluded player is approaching the exclusion area when a shot is taken. The goalkeeper 
recovers the loose ball and passes it to the location in front of the reentry area, where it 
strikes the excluded teammate. Since the defense has gained possession of the ball, this 
unintentional contact with the ball should not be deemed to be interference. If the ball 
deflects out of bounds off the excluded player, it is awarded to the opposing team.  
Regardless, the excluded player must continue to the exclusion area and then reenter 
before being allowed to play the ball. In the meantime, other players from either team may 
play the ball. If the excluded player chooses to play the ball before arriving in the exclusion 
area, this is to be deemed an improper reentry. The excluded player is charged with an 
additional personal foul and the ball is awarded to the opposing team for either an extra 
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player situation or for a penalty throw, depending on which team was in possession of the 
ball at the time of the improper reentry. 

 
For questions regarding this interpretation, please contact the NCAA Water Polo Secretary Rules 
Editor, David Alberstein – albersteind@gmail.com. 
 
 
 


