Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — Due to pool availability, the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) releases a change to the schedule of games for the 2017 Women’s Collegiate Club Mid-Atlantic Division tournament on Saturday-Sunday, February 11-12, in State College, Pa.

The change occurs on Saturday, February 11, as games will now begin one hour later than previously released by the league office. Competition on Sunday, February 12, remains unchanged from the January 8 edition of the Mid-Atlantic Division schedule.

Comprised of Carnegie Mellon University, Ohio University, Pennsylvania State University, the University of Pennsylvania, the University of Pittsburgh and West Chester University, the division race will feature 24 regular season games prior to the nine-game Mid-Atlantic Division Championship set for Saturday-Sunday, April 8-9, at West Chester in West Chester, Pa.

Competition begins on Saturday-Sunday, February 11-12, at Penn State with a 12-game tournament before Carnegie Mellon hosts a 12-contest event on Saturday-Sunday, March 25-26, in Pittsburgh, Pa.

The regular season competition will determine the seeds for the Mid-Atlantic Division Championship at West Chester with the victor of the tournament advancing to the 2016 Women’s National Collegiate Club Championship on Friday-Sunday, May 5-7, at Pittsburgh.

Due to Pittsburgh hosting the National Collegiate Club Championship, the host/2016 Mid-Atlantic Division Champion Panthers are guaranteed to make the championship field.  If Pittsburgh captures the Mid-Atlantic Division title again in 2017, the runner-up from the division championship tournament will advance to the tournament.

In the history of the division, five teams have claimed titles as Duke University (2012, 2013, 2014), Penn State (2001, 2005, 2011, 2015), the University of Virginia (2003), Pennsylvania (2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010), the University of Maryland (2002) and Pitt (2016) each hold at least one crown.

Overall, seven teams in the history of the division have reached the title game with Penn State (2001, 2002, 2005, 2011, 2012. 2014, 2015, 2016), Maryland (2001, 2002), Virginia (2003, 2004, 2009), Pennsylvania (2003, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012), West Chester (2005), Pittsburgh (2006, 2007, 2015, 2016) and Duke (2008, 2012, 2013, 2014) each competing for the Mid-Atlantic Championship.

Pennsylvania State University, State College, Pa.
(revised 1.31.17)
McCoy Natatorium, Bigler & Curtain St., University Park, Pa.
Saturday, February 11, 2017
10:30 Penn State University vs. University of Pennsylvania
11:40 West Chester University vs. University of Pittsburgh
12:50 Ohio University vs. Carnegie Mellon University
2:00 University of Pennsylvania vs. West Chester University
3:10 Penn State University vs. University of Pittsburgh
4:20 Ohio University vs. University of Pennsylvania
5:30 West Chester University vs. Carnegie Mellon University
Sunday, February 12, 2017
9:30 University of Pittsburgh vs. Carnegie Mellon University
10:40 Penn State University vs. West Chester University
11:50 University of Pittsburgh vs. Ohio University
1:40 University of Pennsylvania vs. Carnegie Mellon University
2:50 Penn State University vs. Ohio University
Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pa. 
Cohon University Center, 5032 Forbes Ave., Pittsburgh, Pa.
Saturday, March 25, 2017
9:00 Carnegie Mellon University vs. University of Pittsburgh
10:10 University of Pennsylvania vs. Penn State University
11:20 Ohio University vs. West Chester University
12:30 Carnegie Mellon University vs. University of Pennsylvania
1:40 University of Pittsburgh vs. West Chester University
2:50 Ohio University vs. Penn State University
4:00 University of Pennsylvania vs. University of Pittsburgh
5:10 Carnegie Mellon University vs. Ohio University
6:20 West Chester University vs. Penn State University
Sunday, March 26, 2017
9:00 University of Pittsburgh vs. Ohio University
10:00 West Chester University vs. University of Pennsylvania
11:00 Carnegie Mellon University vs. Penn State University
Due to time constraints on March 26, teams will receive one two-minute timeout per half and a 30-second timeout to be used at any time during the game. Quarter breaks and halftime will be two minutes.
Mid-Atlantic Division Championship
West Chester University, West Chester, Pa.
Graham Natatorium, 855 South New St., West Chester, Pa.
Teams are seeded based on their won/loss records during the regular season:
Bracket A
Bracket B
1st Seed 2nd Seed
4th Seed 3rd Seed
5th Seed 6th Seed
Saturday, April 8, 2017 Game No.
1:00 1st Seed vs. 5th Seed 1
2:10 2nd Seed vs. 6th Seed 2
3:20 4th Seed vs. 5th Seed 3
4:30 3rd Seed vs. 6th Seed 4
5:40 1st Seed vs. 4th Seed 5
6:50 2nd Seed vs. 3rd Seed 6
Sunday, April 9, 2017 Game No.
9:30 3rd in Bracket A vs. 3rd in Bracket B Fifth Place
10:45 2nd in Bracket A vs. 2nd in Bracket B Third Place
Noon 1st in Bracket A vs. 1st in Bracket B First Place
Teams listed first wear dark caps and are home on the scoreboard. Host team always wears dark caps and is listed first on the scoreboard regardless of seed. 
Collegiate Water Polo Association