Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announces the selection of 64 student-athletes to the 2019 ACWPC Division I Men’s Varsity All-America Team.

The All-America honors are divided into eight-member (seven field players, one goalie) First, Second and Third Teams with 40 athletes collecting Honorable Mention notice as a total of 22 institutions garnered at least one selection on the 2019 edition of the Division I team.

2019 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Champion Stanford University collects the most All-America nods with seven, while the University of California-Santa Barbara and the University of Southern California both earn six selections.  Pepperdine University (five), Harvard University (four), the University of California (four), the University of California-Los Angeles (four), Brown University (three), Fordham University (three), University of the Pacific (three), Bucknell University (two), Long Beach State University (two), Princeton University (two), San Jose State University (two), Santa Clara University (two), The George Washington University (two) and the University of California-Davis (two) join Stanford, UC-Santa Barbara and USC in notching multiple honors.  California Baptist University, La Salle University, Loyola Marymount University, the United States Naval Academy and Wagner College each tally solo selections,

The All-America team is led by Stanford’s Ben Hallock who claims his second consecutive National Player of the Year notice after previously earning the 2018 honor.  In the history of the sport since the inaugural National Player of the Year award was presented in 1982, seven schools have combined to take the honor with USC (11), California (eight), Stanford (seven), UCLA (six), the University of California-Irvine (four), Pepperdine (two) and Pacific (one) earning at least one honor.

National Champion head coach John Vargas of Stanford earns his first Coach of the Year award and the seventh in the history of the Cardinal program.  In the history of men’s water polo, USC (Jovan Vavic – 2018, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2005, 2003, 1998; John Williams – 1998), UCLA (Adam Wright – 2017, 2014, 2015; Adam Krikorian – 2004; Guy Baker – 1999, 1996, 1995, 1991), Stanford (John Vargas – 2019; Dante Dettamanti – 2001, 1994, 1993, 1986, 1985, 1984), California (Kirk Everist – 2016, 2006; Steve Heaston – 1992, 1990; Pete Cutino – 1988, 1987, 1983), Pepperdine (Terry Schroeder – 1997), UC-Irvine (Ed Newland – 1989, 1985, 1982), Pacific (James Graham – 2013) and the University of California-San Diego (Denny Harper – 2000) have combined to claim each Coach of the Year reward. Note, a Coach of the Year was not selected in either 2007 or 2002.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by varsity head coaches.

Founded in 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo. This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [52.97 KB]

Collegiate Water Polo Association