Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announces the selection of 14 student-athletes to the 2021 ACWPC Division II Men’s Varsity All-America Team.

Fresno Pacific University and Gannon University lead the team with three selections, while McKendree University, Biola University and Salem University notch pairs.  Concordia University-Irvine and Ottawa University (Ariz.) account for the remaining two accolades.

Overall, 13 of the 14 selections are first-time All-America recipients as Gannon’s Drago Marjanovic – who garnered First Team recognition in 2019 – is the lone repeat on the list.

Seven teams place at least one athlete on the First Team in 2021 as goalie Clay Maroney and National Player of the Year Bodhi Bowden of Fresno Pacific lead the way.

Bowden becomes the inaugural athlete from Fresno Pacific to earn National Player of the Year status.  Previously, Skyler Munatones (2019), Jack Turner (2018), Arman Momdzhayn (2017, 2016), Josh Stiling (2014, 2012), David Morton (2011), Steve Donohoe (2009, 2007), Ty Lackey (2006), Jon Hopkins (200, 2003, 2002) and Jonathan Samuels (2001, 2000) of UC-San Diego; Brett Luehman (2013, 2012), Andy Sekulski (2010) and Andrew Schonoff (2008) of Mercyhurst; Burak Incam (1999), Andre Doria (1998), John Vasek (1997) of Queens College (N.Y.); Vanja Kalabic (2004) of Brigham Young University-Hawaii; Ryan Phillips (1998) of Slippery Rock University; and Ryan Indart (1996) of the University of California-Davis earned laurels leading up to the 2021 Division II Player of the Year selection.

Joining Maroney and Bowden on the First Team are Jeff Runyan of Concordia, Robert Bolmanski of Gannon, Michael Rojas of McKendree, Johnathan Wong of Ottawa, Nikola Krstonosic of Salem and Kenny Wulf of Biola.

Six athletes garner Honorable Mention status as Gannon’s Marjanovic and Vlad Mickic are joined by Thilo Popp of Fresno Pacific, Uros Pelemis of McKedree, Ivan Zivojinovic of Salem and goalie Mitchell Carpenter of Biola.

Outside of the water, Gannon’s Shane Unger earns the 2021 Division II National Coach of the Year award.

The inaugural recipient of the honor from Gannon – and the fourth East Coast head coach to receive the honor joining Curtis Robinette of Mercyhurst University (2008, 2012) along with Pedro Lima (1999, 1998, 1997) and Shelley Rothman (1997) of Queens – Unger follows 15-time recipient Denny Harper of the University of California-San Diego (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2000), Robinette (2012, 2008), Steve Doten (2001) and Tom Elson (1996) of the University of California-Davis and Lima (1999, 1998, 1997) and Rothman (1997) of Queens in the litany of honorees dating back to first presentation of the Division II Coach of the Year award in 1996.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by the head coach of each program by National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division (Division I, II, III).

Founded in 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo. This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.


Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [203.29 KB]

Collegiate Water Polo Association