Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The league schedule of games for the 2022 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III season with Austin College, Carthage College, Connecticut College, Grove City College, Macalester College, Penn State Behrend, Utica College, Washington & Jefferson College, Wittenberg Unviersity and newcomer Augustana College is now available.

Due to the geographic girth of the CWPA Division III group, the league is divided into two regions – the East (Connecticut, Grove City, Penn State Behrend, Utica, Washington & Jefferson) and the West (Augustana, Austin, Carthage, Macalester, Wittenberg) – with the sets of five teams competing in their respective groups until the CWPA Division III Championship on Thursday-Saturday, April 21-23, at Grove City in Grove City, Pa. 

The number of teams remains constant from the last full season in 2019 as Augustana, located in Rock Island, Ill., will commence competition in 2022, while Monmouth College elected to eliminate the institution’s men’s and women’s water polo programs.

The East Region features two regular season tournaments as W&J hosts a 10-game event on Saturday-Sunday, March 19-20, prior to Connecticut holding a 10-game weekend on Saturday-Sunday, April 9-10, in New London, Conn.

In the West, Wittenberg will host an eight game weekend on Saturday-Sunday, March 26-27, in Springfield, Ohio, prior to Carthage hosting 10 games on Friday-Sunday, April 8-10.  Macalester will host Carthage in a single game on Friday, April 15, in St. Paul, Minn., while the Augustana versus Carthage game does not currently possess a location, date or time.

The regular season results will establish the seeds for the CWPA Division III Championship at Grove City.  Due to Austin claiming the 2021 league championship via a 20-6 defeat of Wittenberg at Carthage in Kenosha, Wisc., on April 18, the West Region will hold the No. 1, 3, 5, 7 and 9 seeds in the championship field.  The East Region will hold the No. 2, 4, 6, 8 and 10 spots for the three-day, 17-game championship .

In the history of the CWPA Division III ranks, multi-year championship runs are the norm as Grove City (2010, 2011, 2012), Connecticut (2013, 2014, 2015, 2016) and Macalester (2017, 2018, 2019) claimed the prior crowns before Austin’s title tilt win versus a COVID-10 abbreviated field in 2021.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [135.20 KB]

Collegiate Water Polo Association