Print Friendly, PDF & Email

IRVINE, Calif. — The USA Water Polo Division III Collegiate Water Polo National Championship is back this season with competition headed to Thousand Oaks, Calif., on Saturday-Sunday, December 3 and 4. Division III No. 3-ranked California Lutheran University earned hosting honors after claiming the 2022 Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) Championship. They will be joined in the competition by SCIAC runner-up/No. 6 the University of Redlands along with Division III Eastern Champion/No. 8 Johns Hopkins University of the Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference (MAWPC) and Division III Eastern Championship runner-up/No. 10 the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT).

Admission for the tournament is $12 for the day or $20 for the weekend. To purchase tickets, CLICK HERE. Cal Lutheran will provide a live stream of all games with coverage available by CLICKING HERE.

Due to both Johns Hopkins and MIT being unable to host, the championship will occur in California for a third consecutive event.

Hosting rights have been critical to winning the event as Whittier College hosted the inaugural/2019 championship and defeated Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges, 5-3, to claim the National Championship.  MIT finished in Third Place courtesy a 20-13 victory over Johns Hopkins.

Following the 2020 event being canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the championship returned in 2021 with host Pomona-Pitzer Colleges topping Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, 13-12, for the second USA Water Polo Division III Championship.  Johns Hopkins avenged its 2019 defeat to MIT by clipping the Engineers, 11-10, to take Third Place.

Pool Location:
Samuelson Aquatics Center
100 Overton Ct
Thousand Oaks, CA 91360

Game Schedule (all times Pacific):
Saturday, December 3:

Noon – California Lutheran University vs. Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)
2:00 p.m. –  Johns Hopkins University vs. University of Redlands

Sunday, December 4th:
10:30 a.m. – Third Place Game
12:30 p.m. – Championship Game

Collegiate Water Polo Association