Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — A total of 66 Northeast Water Polo Conference (NWPC) student-athletes garnered selection to the 2017 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Scholar-Athlete Team.

Divided into three teams based on cumulative grade point average, league members garnered 21 Outstanding (4.00-3.71), 28 Superior (3.70-3.41) and 17 Excellent (3.40-3.20) honors as six institutions submitted nominees for the team in the second season of play for the NWPC.

Topping the list is Brown University which notches 16 selections (five Outstanding, eight Superior, three Excellent).  The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (five Outstanding, five Superior, two Excellent) comes in second with 12 honorees, while Iona College (four Outstanding, five Superior, two Excellent), St. Francis College Brooklyn (six Outstanding, three Superior, two Excellent) and Harvard University (six Superior, five Excellent) each notched 11 awards.

Princeton University (one Outstanding, one Superior, three Excellent) comprise the remaining five nods.

In addition, five schools received Team All-Academic recognition as MIT (3.62), St. Francis Brooklyn (3.50), Brown (3.49), Harvard (3.30) and Iona (3.24) all exceeded a 2.75 grade point average.

In total, 172 student-athletes that compete in a Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) administered league earned recognition as the Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference (MAWPC) collected 106 (33 Outstanding, 39 Superior, 34 Excellent) laurels and eight Team Awards.


2017 CWPA Men’s Scholar-Athlete Team
Varsity (Northeast Water Polo Conference)  
Outstanding (3.71-4.0)  
Daniel Hu Brown University
Galen Hu Brown University
Tyler Kirchberg Brown University
William Collier Brown University
John Wilson Brown University
Michael Banks Iona College 
Brett Hofer Iona College 
Jason Hill Iona College 
Dalton Hansten   Iona College 
Justin Xiang Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Lucas Novak Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Clyde Huibregtse Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Federico Bescotti Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ward Weldon Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Andrew Lin Princeton University
Alec Mendelsohn Princeton University
Alex Essig Princeton University
Casey Conrad Princeton University
Boris Posavec St. Francis College Brooklyn
Finn Dorries St. Francis College Brooklyn
Ognjen Antanaskovic St. Francis College Brooklyn
Vukasin Petrovic St. Francis College Brooklyn
Tadeu Rodrigues St. Francis College Brooklyn
Zachary Hahn St. Francis College Brooklyn
Superior (3.41-3.70)  
Aidan Reilly Brown University
Armen Deirmenjian Brown University
James Thygesen Brown University
Hudson Rawlings Brown University
Richard Burke Brown University
Santiago Nunez Brown University
Charles Pang Brown University
Paul Kalandiak Brown University
Nikhil Suri Harvard University
Dennis Blyashov Harvard University
Ben Wagner Harvard University
Nathan Ondracek Harvard University
Charlie Owens Harvard University
Bruno Snow Harvard University
Bailey Lyons Iona College 
Marc Stauble Iona College 
Patrick Hudak Iona College 
Philip Wachowski Iona College 
Quinn Lloyd Iona College 
Pat Stefanou Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Kyle Archer Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Peter Calvaresi Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Daniel Yahalomi Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Luka Knezevic Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Ryan Hammarskjold Princeton University
Nikita Prokhin St. Francis College Brooklyn
Jonas Veazey St. Francis College Brooklyn
Tucker Angelo St. Francis College Brooklyn
Excellent (3.20-3.40)  
Ryan Melosini Princeton University
Levente Varga St. Francis College Brooklyn
Viktor Klauzer St. Francis College Brooklyn
Travis Bouscaren Brown University
William Renken Brown University
Zach Roper Iona College 
Ben Teitscheid Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Spencer Anthony Iona College 
Miles Cole Princeton University
Davis Wachtell Princeton University
Nicholas Bunn Harvard University
Thomas Bush Brown University
Colin Chiapello Harvard University
Michael Swart Princeton University
Bennie Seybold Harvard University
Jackson Enright Harvard University
Grayson Judge Harvard University
Hayden Niederreiter Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Team GPA (2.75 or higher)  
Massachusetts Institute of Technology 3.62
St. Francis College Brooklyn 3.50
Brown University 3.49
Harvard University 3.30
Iona College 3.24
Collegiate Water Polo Association