Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) announces the Club Governing Council for the 2020-21 academic year.

Consisting of three full-time students and two club sport administrators along with an ex-officio member of the league staff, membership is derived based on a vote of the league membership with the understanding that two members of the Governing Council may not be from the same division. The Council Chair is elected annually by the council members and must be an administrator.

For the 2020-21 academic year, Matthew Burrows of the University of Iowa, Mike Dougherty of Pennsylvania State University and Annie Ritcey of California Polytechnic State University will serve as the collegiate club athlete representatives.  In addition, University of Colorado Clinical Data and Administrative Specialist Chris Thomas along with University of Notre Dame Associate Vice President for Student Development/Women’s Collegiate Club head coach Brian Coughlin hold the two administrator positions.  Coughlin will serve as Chairman and will hold a position on the league’s Board of Directors.

The Club Governance Council  – which conducts meetings via conference call as necessary with a quorum necessary to conduct league business – is charged with overseeing:

  • New Member Approval
  • Discipline
  • Player Eligibility Allegations

Members serve two-year terms with Coughlin and Dougherty serving until June 2021, while Burrows, Ritcey, Thomas serve until June 2022.

Collegiate Water Polo Association