Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2023 Women’s Collegiate Club Southwest Division Schedule

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) releases an updated 2023 Women’s Collegiate Club Southwest Division schedule following the decision of Arizona State University “B” and the University of San Diego to not complete the season.

All games versus Arizona State “B”, which competed in a limited number of contests during the weekend of February 25-26 in Tempe, Ariz., at Arizona State, are considered nullified and will not count towards the division standings.  San Diego had not competed during the 2023 season.

Due to the loss of the two programs, the remaining teams (Arizona State, Grand Canyon University, San Diego State University “A”, San Diego State University “B”, University of Arizona, University of California-Irvine, University of California-San Diego “A”, University of California-San Diego “B”) will have an uneven number of regular season contests.  To provide an equitable means to seed the Southwest Division Championship on Saturday-Sunday, April 22-23, at San Diego State in San Diego, Calif., the order of regular season finish in the division will be determined by win-loss percentages.  

Further, the loss of ASU “B” and San Diego causes the schedules for both the final regular season tournament on Saturday-Sunday, April 15-16, at UC-San Diego in La Jolla, Calif., and the division championship at San Diego State on April 22-23, to be reworked.  The UC-San Diego weekend will now feature 16 games, while the division championship adjusts to an eight-team format will the victor of the event earning the Southwest Division’s bid to the 2023 Women’s National Collegiate Club Championship at the University of California-Los Angeles in Los Angeles, Calif., on Friday-Sunday, May 5-7.

Collegiate Water Polo Association