Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — Johns Hopkins University and Wagner College have informed the league office of their intent to not compete during the Winter 2021 men’s varsity water polo season.

The loss of the Seahawks and Blue Jays will cause changes in the Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference (MAWPC)-East schedule.  An adjusted schedule is expected to be available early during the week of January 18-to-24.

Due to Northeast Water Polo Conference (NWPC) institutions Brown University, Harvard University, Princeton University, the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) and St Francis College Brooklyn joining MAWPC programs Connecticut College, Monmouth College and now Wagner and Johns Hopkins in not competing during the NCAA Winter 2021 season, the remaining MAWPC-East Region and MAWPC-West Region teams along with NWPC program Iona College will compete in the MAWPC this year.  The teams will be broken down into two sections – MAWPC-East and MAWPC-West – with the MAWPC-East consisting of both Northern and Southern sections.

For the Winter 2021 season the breakdown is now:

MAWPC-West (6 Teams)

  • Gannon University
  • McKendree University
  • Mercyhurst University
  • Mount St. Mary’s University
  • Salem University
  • Washington & Jefferson College

MAWPC-East (North Section – 3 Teams)

  • Fordham University
  • Iona College
  • La Salle University

MAWPC-East (South Section – 3 Teams)

  • Bucknell University
  • George Washington University
  • U.S. Naval Academy


Collegiate Water Polo Association