Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) of the Northeast Water Polo Conference (NWPC) will host the 25th Anniversary/2017 Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) Division III Championship on Saturday-Sunday, October 14-15, with Connecticut College, Johns Hopkins University, Monmouth College and Washington & Jefferson College of the Mid-Atlantic Water Polo Conference (MAWPC) and Penn State Behrend of the Mountain Pacific Sports Federation (MPSF).

Per league policy, the championship field is seeded based on a vote of the six competing institutions’ head coaches.

Unlike last year in which 2015 CWPA Division III Champion Johns Hopkins elected not to attend the tournament to compete at the Santa Clara University Bronco Tournament, the Blue Jays return to the fold to battle with the Engineers of MIT, Camels of Connecticut, Fighting Scots of Monmouth, Presidents of Washington & Jefferson and Lions of Penn State Behrend for East Coast Division III bragging rights.

In the history of the tournament, Hopkins holds 16 Division III crowns (1994, 1995, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2015) in 24 title games with losses in 1991, 1992, 1993, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2010 and 2014.  Last year marked the second time the Blue Jays’ missed the championship game as the team also did not compete in 2007 to permit MIT and Washington & Jefferson to square-off with the title.

Eight-time champion MIT (1991, 1997, 2000, 2003, 2007, 2010, 2014, 2016) will seek to defend its crown after downing Washington & Jefferson by a 17-8 score on October 23 at Penn State Behrend in Erie, Pa., in the 2016 title tilt.

MIT and Hopkins have combined to win 24 of the past 26 Division III tournament titles with W&J, Connecticut, Monmouth and Penn State Behrend aiming for the programs’ first championships in 2017.  Former varsity team Washington & Lee University defeated Johns Hopkins in 1992 and 1993 in the second and third Division III tournament for the only titles not held by either the Blue Jays or Engineers.

2017 CWPA Division III Championship
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Mass.
  Bracket A   Bracket B
  1st Seed   2nd Seed
  4th Seed   3rd Seed
  5th Seed   6th Seed
Saturday, October 14, 2017    
10:30 1st Seed vs. 5th Seed
11:45 2nd Seed vs. 6th Seed
1:00 4th Seed vs. 5th Seed
2:30 2nd Seed vs. 3rd Seed
3:45 1st Seed vs. 4th Seed
5:00 3rd Seed vs. 6th Seed
Sunday, October 15, 2017    
9:30 3rd in Bracket A vs. 3rd in Bracket B
10:45 2nd in Bracket B vs. 2nd in Bracket A
12:15 1st in Bracket A vs. 1st in Bracket B


Collegiate Water Polo Association