Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — 11 student-athletes earn recognition on the 2019 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) Men’s Varsity Division II All-America Team.

The University of California-San Diego leads the team with three selections, while Concordia University and McKendree University both garner pairs. Fresno Pacific University, Gannon University, Mercyhurst University and Salem University complete the honors as the group each notch solo accolades.

A total of eight players earn spots on the First Team led by 2019 Division II Player of the Year Skyler Munatones and 2018 Division II Player of the Year/goalie Jack Turner of UC-San Diego. Fellow Triton Connor Turnbow–Lindenstadt join his pair of teammates on the First Team.  Marius Jakimcikas of Concordia, Jacob Fairchild of Fresno Pacific, Drago Marjanovic of Gannon, Matthew Haygood of McKendree and Milos Popovic of Salem account for the remainder of the First Team.

Ryan Witoslawski of Mercyhurst, Joseph Mahan of McKendree and Patrick Zsiros of Concordia round out the All-America awards as the trio garner Honorable Mention recognition.

Munatones’ selection as Division II National Player of the Year continues a tradition of excellence for UC-San Diego as he joins Turner (2018), Arman Momdzhayn (2016, 2017), Josh Stiling (2014; 2012-co.), David Morton (2011), Steve Donohoe (2009; 2007), Ty Lackey (2006), Jon Hopkins (2005; 2003, 2002) and Jonathan Samuels (2001; 2000).  Brett Luehman (2013; 2012-co), Andy Sekulski (2010) and Andrew Schonoff (2008) of Mercyhurst; Burak Incam (1999), Andre Doria (1998-co.), John Vasek (1997) of Queens College (N.Y.); Vanja Kalabic (2004) of Brigham Young University-Hawaii; Ryan Phillips (1998-co.) of Slippery Rock University; and Ryan Indart (1996) of the University of California-Davis have also earned recognition as the Division II Player of the Year.

Outside of the water, UC-San Diego’s Denny Harper collects his 15th Division II and 18th overall National Coach of the Year award.

The 1996, 1998 and 1999 Division III Coach of the Year at UC-San Diego prior to the program’s rise to the Division II ranks, Harper previously earned the 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2011, 2009, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003 and 2000 awards outright and shared the honor with Mercyhurst’s Curtis Robinette in 2012. A Division III Coach of the Year was not selected in either 2010, 2007 or 2002.

Robinette (2012-co; 2008), Steve Doten (2001) and Tom Elson (1996) of UC-Davis and Pedro Lima (1999, 1998, 1997-co.) and Shelly Rothman (1997-co.) of Queens College (N.Y.) account for the other recipients dating back to the first presentation of the Division II Coach of the Year award in 1996.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by the head coach of each program by National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division (Division I, II, III).

Founded in 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo. This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [47.62 KB]

Collegiate Water Polo Association