Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announces the selection of 50 student-athletes to the 2022 ACWPC Division I Men’s Varsity All-America Team.

A total of 23 institutions earned at least one All-America selection with National Champion the University of California, the University of California-Los Angeles (UCLA) and University of the Pacific leading the way with five selections.  Princeton University garnered four nods, while Harvard University and the University of Southern California notched three honors.  Bucknell University, Fordham University, Long Beach State University, Pepperdine University, Stanford University, the University of California-Davis, the University of California-Irvine and the University of California-Santa Barbara posted pairs with Brown University, George Washington University, Iona University, Mount St. Mary’s University, San Jose State University, St. Francis College Brooklyn, the University of California-San Diego, the United States Air Force Academy and Wagner College racking up solo accolades.

A pair of individual honors are also bestowed as four-time All-America selection Nikolaos Papanikolaou (2019 Honorable Mention, 2020 First Team, 2021 First Team, 2022 First Team) of California repeats as the National Player of the Year, while Cal head coach Kirk Everist claims his fourth Coach of the Year award and the ninth in the history of the Golden Bears’ program. 

In the history of men’s water polo, USC (Jovan Vavic – 2018, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2005, 2003, 1998; John Williams – 1998), UCLA (Adam Wright – 2017, 2014, 2015, 2020; Adam Krikorian – 2004; Guy Baker – 1999, 1996, 1995, 1991), Stanford (John Vargas – 2019; Dante Dettamanti – 2001, 1994, 1993, 1986, 1985, 1984), California (Kirk Everist – 2016, 2006, 2021, 2022; Steve Heaston – 1992, 1990; Pete Cutino – 1988, 1987, 1983), Pepperdine (Terry Schroeder – 1997), the University of California-Irvine (Ed Newland – 1989, 1985, 1982), Pacific (James Graham – 2013) and UC-San Diego (Denny Harper – 2000) have combined to claim each Coach of the Year reward. Note, a Coach of the Year was not selected in either 2007 or 2002.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by the men’s varsity head coaches.  Votes are calculated by the ACWPC with the teams released by the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA).

Founded in 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo. This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.


Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [111.71 KB]


Collegiate Water Polo Association