Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) announces the selection of 14 student-athletes to the 2022 ACWPC Division II Men’s Varsity All-America Team.

Salem University leads the team with four selections, while McKendree University and Biola University notch three.  Mercyhurst University snags a pair with Concordia University Irvine and Fresno Pacific University both collecting solo honors.

Five teams place at least one athlete on the First Team in 2022 as Salem, Concordia, McKendree, Fresno Pacific and Biola are all recognized with Salem (three) and Biola (two) earning multiple nods.

Jeff Runyan of Concordia becomes the inaugural athlete from his institution to earn National Player of the Year status.  Previously, Skyler Munatones (2019), Jack Turner (2018), Arman Momdzhayn (2017, 2016), Josh Stiling (2014, 2012), David Morton (2011), Steve Donohoe (2009, 2007), Ty Lackey (2006), Jon Hopkins (200, 2003, 2002) and Jonathan Samuels (2001, 2000) of the University of California-San Diego; Brett Luehman (2013, 2012), Andy Sekulski (2010) and Andrew Schonoff (2008) of Mercyhurst; Burak Incam (1999), Andre Doria (1998), John Vasek (1997) of Queens College (N.Y.); Vanja Kalabic (2004) of Brigham Young University-Hawaii; Ryan Phillips (1998) of Slippery Rock University; Ryan Indart (1996) of the University of California-Davis; and Bodhi Bowden of Fresno Pacific (2021) earned laurels leading up to the 2021 Division II Player of the Year selection.

Outside of the water, Saem’s Rob Bullion earns the 2022 Division II National Coach of the Year award.

The inaugural recipient of the honor from Salem – and the fifth East Coast head coach to receive the honor joining the late Curtis Robinette of Mercyhurst University (2008, 2012), Shane Unger of Gannon University (2021) along with Pedro Lima (1999, 1998, 1997) and Shelley Rothman (1997) of Queens – Bullion follows Unger, 15-time recipient Denny Harper of the University of California-San Diego (2019, 2018, 2017, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009, 2006, 2005, 2004, 2003, 2000), Robinette (2012, 2008), Steve Doten (2001) and Tom Elson (1996) of the University of California-Davis and Lima (1999, 1998, 1997) and Rothman (1997) of Queens in the litany of honorees dating back to first presentation of the Division II Coach of the Year award in 1996.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by the men’s varsity head coaches.  Votes are calculated by the ACWPC with the teams released by the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA).

Founded in 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo. This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.


Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Download [90.33 KB]

Collegiate Water Polo Association