Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — The trio of Augustana College’s Casey Barragan (Jr., Commerce, Calif./La Serna/Fresno State University), Macalester College’s Pooja Bucklin (Fr., Palo Alto, Calif./Henry M. Gunn) and Macalester head coach Scott Reed earn Most Valuable Player, Rookie of the Year and Coach of the Year honors as the Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) releases the league’s 2024 Division III All-Conference Team.

Athletes are selected based on nominations from each institutions’ head coach.  The nominations are compiled for a ballot from which the coaches select 12 field athletes and two goalies from other institutions.  Coaches also select a Most Valuable Player (MVP), Coach of the Year and Rookie of the Year based on nominations from the institutions – with the ability to vote for their own nominations for the three awards.

Unlike 2019, 2022 and 2023 when the All-Conference team was divided into East and West Regions, the 2024 squad encompasses the current nine CWPA Division III institutions (Augustana, Austin College, Carthage College, Connecticut College, Grove City College, Macalester, Penn State Behrend, Washington & Jefferson College, Wheaton College (Mass.)).

However, unlike the 2010-to-2023 All-Conference teams, the 2024 team includes an Honorable Mention team for the first time to provide representative equality following the merger of the East and West Regions. 

The 2023 CWPA Division III-Western Region Rookie and Player of the Year after transferring from Fresno State University, Barragan leads the All-Conference team as she joins former Lucille Moran (Macalester: 2017, 2018) and Nicolle Jasbon (Connecticut: 2013, 2014, 2015) as the only athletes in CWPA Division III league history to repeat as a Most Valuable Player honoree. 

She is joined on the 2024 All-Conference First Team by fellow 2023 CWPA Division III-West Region First Team selections Charlotte Newport (Jr., Baytown, Texas/Ross S. Sterling) and goalkeeper Lizzie Pelzman (Jr., Roseville, Calif./Roseville) as three of the seven positions on the First Team belong to regular season champion Augustana.

Bucklin – who becomes the second Macalester athlete to earn Rookie of the Year status following Cara Mullery (2017) – is joined on the First Team by teammate Jess Palmer-Sammons (So., Half Moon Bay, Calif./Half Moon Bay) as both garner their inaugural All-Conference laurels.

2022 and 2023 CWPA Division III-West Region Second Team pick Alyssa Ross (Sr., San Jose, Calif./Leland) of Austin and 2023 CWPA Division III-East Region First Team pick Emma Luna (So., Wahiawa, Hawaii/Punahou School) of Connecticut complete the 2024 First Team.

2023 CWPA Division III-East Region Most Valuable Player/Rookie of the Year/First Team selection Gigi Sandull (So., Kenilworth, N.J./Union County Vocational-Technical Schools) of Connecticut and 2023 CWPA Division III-West Region Second Team honoree Ocean Akau (Jr., Pana’ewa, Hawaii/Kamehameha) of Augustana lead the 2024 Second Team and complete the six athletes with prior All-Conference nods.

Goalkeeper Ella Selman (So., Naperville, Ill./Naperville North) of Carthage, Cory McGrath (Sr., Flower Mound, Texas/Marcus) and Ashley Chand (Fr., Southlake, Texas/Southlake) of Austin, Emma Halle (Jr., Pittsburgh, Pa./North Allegheny) of Washington & Jefferson, Darragh Martin (So., Green Lane, Pa./Upper Perkiomen) of Penn State Behrend and Kiley Sill (So., Virginia Beach, Va./Princess Anne) of Grove City complete the Second Team with their inaugural All-Conference accolades.

Goalkeeper Jayden Kratt (So., Palo Alto, Calif./Henry M. Gunn) and Alana Nadolski (So., Kentwood, Mich./East Kentwood) of Macalester, Kylee Noble (Sr., Argyle, Texas/Guyer) of Austin, Kylie Hemming (Sr., Huntington Beach, Calif./Huntington Beach) and Alyssa Sayatovic (Sr., Berwyn, Ill./Fenwick) of Carthage, Susanna Carrillo (So., Fresno, Calif./Clovis North) of Penn State Behrend and Sophia Romo (Fr., Jupiter, Fla./William T. Dwyer) of Wheaton comprise the Honorable Mention team as a total of 22 athletes receive All-Conference appreciation for the 2024 regular season.


2024 Collegiate Water Polo Association Division III All-Conference Team
Most Valuable Player: Casey Barragan (Augustana College)
Rookie of the Year: Pooja Bucklin (Macalester College)
Coach of the Year: Scott Reed (Macalester College)
First Team
Lizzie Pelzman (Goalie) Augustana College
Casey Barragan Augustana College
Charlotte Newport Augustana College
Pooja Bucklin Macalester College
Jess Palmer-Sammons Macalester College
Alyssa Ross Austin College
Emma Luna Connecticut College
Second Team
Ella Selman (Goalie) Carthage College
Cory McGrath Austin College
Ashley Chand Austin College
Ocean Akau Augustana College
Gigi Sandull Connecticut College
Kiley Sill Grove City College
Darragh Martin Penn State  Behrend
Emma Halle Washington & Jefferson College
Honorable Mention
Jayden Kratt (Goalie) Macalester College
Alana Nadolski Macalester College
Alyssa Sayatovic Carthage College
Kylie Hemming Carthage College
Kylee Noble Austin College
Susanna Carrillo Penn State Behrend
Sophia Romo Wheaton College (Mass.)


Coach of the Year

  • 2024 – Scott Reed (Macalester College)
  • 2023 – Matt Anderson (Connecticut College – East) / Ryan Pryor (Augustana College – West)
  • 2022 – Joe Tristan (Penn State Behrend – East) / Mark Lawrence (Austin College – West)
  • 2021 – Mark Lawrence (Austin College)
  • 2020 – No competition (COVID-19)
  • 2019 – Alyssa Hunt (Grove City College – East) / Peter Ollis (Monmouth College – West)
  • 2018 – Scott Reed (Macalester College)
  • 2017 – Scott Reed (Macalester College)
  • 2016 – Joe Tristan (Penn State Behrend)
  • 2015 – Matt Anderson (Connecticut College)
  • 2014 – Andy Bax (Carthage College)
  • 2013 – JJ Addison (Connecticut College)
  • 2012 – Jon Miller (Grove City College)
  • 2011 – Sarah Zink (Carthage College)
  • 2010 – Jon Miller (Grove City College)

Most Valuable Player

  • 2024 – Casey Barragan (Augustana College)
  • 2023 – Gigi Sandull (Connecticut College – East) / Casey Barragan (Augustana College – West)
  • 2022 – Maria Sell (Connecticut College – East) / Brooke Le (Austin College)
  • 2021 – Sophie Oliver (Austin College)
  • 2020 – No competition (COVID-19)
  • 2019 – Tessa Leatherwood (Grove City College – East) / Becca Dabrowski (Monmouth College)
  • 2018 – Lucille Moran (Macalester College)
  • 2017 – Lucille Moran (Macalester College)
  • 2016 – Kelsey Millward (Connecticut College)
  • 2015 – Nicolle Jasbon (Connecticut College)
  • 2014 – Nicolle Jasbon (Connecticut College)
  • 2013 – Nicolle Jasbon (Connecticut College)
  • 2012 – Chelsea Johnson (Grove City College)
  • 2011 – Kimberly Genian (Carthage College)
  • 2010 – Amanda Thompson (Grove City College)

Rookie of the Year

  • 2024 – Pooja Bucklin (Macalester College)
  • 2023 – Gigi Sandull (Connecticut College – East) / Casey Barragan (Augustana College – West)
  • 2022 – Marley Persch (Penn State Behrend – East) / Alyssa Fricker (Augustana College – West)
  • 2021 – Grace McLaughlin (Wittenberg University)
  • 2020 – No competition (COVID-19)
  • 2019 – Elaine Miller (Grove City College – East) / Lexi Wong (Austin College – West)
  • 2018 – Stephania Lopez (Connecticut College)
  • 2017 – Cara Mullery (Macalester College)
  • 2016 – Jane Eckles (Carthage College)
  • 2015 – Maryn Horn (Penn State Behrend)
  • 2014 – Laura Travers (Washington & Jefferson College)
  • 2013 – Rachel Clauss (Washington & Jefferson College)
  • 2012 – Hannah Hibbs (Wheaton College (Ill.))
  • 2011 – Hillary Veselik (Carthage College)
  • 2010 – Amanda Johnston (Grove City College)
Collegiate Water Polo Association