Print Friendly, PDF & Email

2017 ACWPC Women’s Division III All-America Team (PDF)

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — Six Collegiate Water Polo Association (CWPA) student-athletes from three institutions are among 24 players to earn honors on the 2017 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) Women’s Division III All-America Team.

2017 CWPA Division III Player of the Year Lucy Moran (So., Ann Arbor, Mich./Huron) leads the way for the league as she garners Second Team honors for her second All-America nod after previously garnering Honorable Mention notice in 2016.

The remaining All-America league selections earn Honorable Mention notice as Cara Mullery (Fr., Palmetto Bay, Fla./MAST Academy) and goalie Courtney Overland (So., Honolulu, Hawaii/Iolani) of Macalester join Moran as the Scots earned three nods from the nation’s Division III coaches.  The trio are joined by  Abigail Jank (Sr., Worthington, Ohio/Thomas Worthington) of Grove City College along with Brittany Pinter (Sr., Erie, Pa./McDowell) and Maryn Horn (Jr., Houston, Texas/Jersey Village) of Penn State Behrend.

The award marks the second All-America nod for Horn who previously claimed Honorable Mention status in 2016.

Comprised of 24 student-athletes, the team features players from nine institutions as Whittier College (five), California Lutheran University (four), Pomona-Pitzer Colleges (four), Macalester (three), Chapman University (two), Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges (two), Penn State Behrend (two), Grove City (one) and the University of La Verne (one) each garnered a minimum of one athlete on either the First, Second or Honorable Mention Division III All-America lists.

For the second time in three seasons, an individual from a school outside the SCIAC earns recogntion as the Division III Coach of the Year as Macalester’s Scott Reed follows Justin Pudwill of Whittier (2016), Alex Rodriguez (2014, 2013, 2012, 2010, 2008) of Pomona-Pitzer, Tom Whittemore (2011, 2005, 2004, 1999, 1998 1996) of Redlands, Tim Settem (2006) and Mike Ashe (2001) of Claremont-Mudd-Scripps, Dennis Fosdick (2000, 1997) of Occidental, Craig Rond (2009, 2007) of Cal Lutheran and Matt Anderson (2015) of Connecticut College in garnering laurels.

The ACWPC All-America teams are selected based on nominations and voting by the head coach of each program by National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division (Division I, II, III).

Since 2005, the mission of the Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches (ACWPC) is to promote the development and advancement of collegiate water polo.  This shall be accomplished by providing its membership with professional education, services, training and a united voice.

2017 Association of Collegiate Water Polo Coaches Division III All-America Team
Division III Player of the Year: Christina Williamson (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
Coach of the Year: Scott Reed (Macalester College)
First Team  
Ahsha Earwood (Goalie) Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Christina Williamson Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Jocelyn Castro Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Kristi McGee California Lutheran University
Grace Schade Chapman University
Guarina Garcia University of La Verne
Isabella Gorrocino Whittier College
Second Team  
Bailey Meyer (Goalie) California Lutheran University
Nikki Roed California Lutheran University
Emily Fong Chapman University
Roxy Kiessling Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges
Lucy Moran Macalester College
Chessa Burke Pomona-Pitzer Colleges
Jenel Rivera Whittier College
Honorable Mention  
Courtney Overland (Goalie) Macalester College
Katia Montoya (Goalie) Whittier College
Victoria Rose Meek California Lutheran University
Jessica Gaffney Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges
Abigail Jank Grove City College
Cara Mullery Macalester College
Maryn Horn Penn State Behrend
Brittany Pinter Penn State Behrend
Anastacia Gonzalez Whittier College
Zyania Morales Whittier College

Division III Players of the Year (1996-to-Present):

  • 2017 – Christina Williamson (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2016 – Angelica Hernandez (Whittier College)
  • 2015 – Alyssa Woodward (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2014 – Candace Filippelli (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges)
  • 2013 – Sarah Tuggy (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2012 – Chelsea Johnson (Grove City College) / Annie Oxborough-Yankus (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2011 – Tamara Perea (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2010 – Tamara Perea (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2009 – Meredith Butte (California Lutheran University)
  • 2008 – Laura Condon (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2007 – Laura Condon (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2006 – Annie Richardson (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges)
  • 2005 – Alie Hower (University of Redlands)
  • 2004 – Ashley Gucinski (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2003 – Joy Haviland (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2002 – Sarah Rosenberger (University of Redlands)
  • 2001 – Katie Reichert (University of Redlands)
  • 2000 – Jackie Provost (Occidental College)
  • 1999 – Teri Lawson (University of Redlands)
  • 1998 – Cheryl Burkett (University of Redlands)
  • 1997 – Joanna Bell (University of Redlands)
  • 1996 – Nikki Fonnesbeck (University of Redlands)

Division III Coaches of the Year (1996-to-present):

  • 2017 – Scott Reed (Macalester College)
  • 2016 – Justin Pudwill (Whittier College)
  • 2015 – Matt Anderson (Connecticut College)
  • 2014 – Alex Rodriguez (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2013 – Alex Rodriguez (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2012 – Alex Rodriguez (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2011 – Tom Whittemore (Universty of Redlands)
  • 2010 – Alex Rodriguez (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2009 – Craig Rond (California Lutheran University)
  • 2008 – Alex Rodriguez (Pomona-Pitzer Colleges)
  • 2007 – Craig Rond (California Lutheran University)
  • 2006 – Tim Settem (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges)
  • 2005 – Tom Whittiemore (University of Redlands)
  • 2004 – Tom Whittemore (University of Redlands)
  • 2003 – None selected
  • 2002 – None selected
  • 2001 – Mike Ashe (Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges)
  • 2000 – Dennis Fosdick (Occidental College)
  • 1999 – Tom Whittemore (University of Redlands)
  • 1998 – Tom Whittemore (University of Redlands)
  • 1997 – Dennis Fosdick (Occidental College)
  • 1996 – Tom Whittemore (University of Redlands
Collegiate Water Polo Association