Print Friendly, PDF & Email

BRIDGEPORT, Pa. — Former Indiana University athletes Kristin Zernicke ’07, Janis Pardy ’06 and Brooke Zimmerman ’08 are part of the 2003 Canadian Junior National Team elected as a team inductee as part of the 2022 Canadian Water Polo Hall of Fame class.

Water Polo Canada notes, “In 2003, the Canadian Junior Women’s Team made history by winning the World Junior Championships with a shootout victory over the United States in Calgary. Under the direction of head coach Pat Oaten and assistant coaches Daniel Berthelette and Ahmed El Awadi, the 13-player team captured the only world championship title ever won by a Canadian team. This outstanding group of players included Rachel Riddell, Cecily Morgan Jonker (Vancouver), Kristin Zernicke and Janis Pardy (Calgary), Brooke Zimmerman and Sarah Theriault (Edmonton), Marina Radu, Dominique Perrault, Krystina Alogbo, Rosanna Tomiuk, Katie Little, Tara Campbell and Christine Robinson (Montreal). Many of them would go on to excel at the senior international level.”

A native of Calgary, Alberta, Zimmerman netted 206 goals, grabbed 172 steals, and dished out a school-record 151 assists during her tenure in Bloomington from 2006-to-2008.

In each of Zimmerman’s three seasons, she earned CWPA (Collegiate Water Polo Association) All-West First Team honors and claimed Association of Collegiate Water Polo Association (ACWPC) All-America Honorable Mention status as a senior in 2008.

Also natives of Calgary, Zernicke claimed 2007 CWPA All-West Second Team honors during her time in Bloomington, while Pardy was a 2006 All-West First Team selection.

Collegiate Water Polo Association